Author Topic: Volcanic Hardcore Mod  (Read 5666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« on: May 14, 2008, 07:01:11 pm »
I've made a Volcanic mod... Installation:
Change the mach1.met file with this one :smilydude:

Playing options and informations:
- red and blue vs yellow and green
- please choose "starting position: Fixed"
- when you select "starting resources: Default" you'll get 20.000 BMU's for start
- you can build PODs
- prices are 1/5 of the original ones
- AI doesn't build any defense or nukes
- AI makes a big army and attacks with many waves of Machines
- when you want to play solo with AI, please select green or yellow colour
- you can find a lot of resources
- notice that, when you research the ION CANNON, you better not build any more PODs 8-)

This is my first BIG mod, enjoy :wink:

P.S. If you find any bugs, just please report them in this thread :-P

Offline MetalBeast

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • 3D Artist
    • View Profile
    • 3d-get.de
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 07:53:35 pm »
Thx. I will give it a try ;)

What about the pods, do they force the game to crash after ion-cannon is researched ?

EDIT:

I can not build any pods.
The most ressources are on yellow and green side, not on blue ot red.
See screenshot:

« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 08:18:42 pm by MetalBeast »
See my newest "Machines" wallpaper here

My 3D modelling site
========================================

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 03:06:59 am »
You can build POD's, if you have Behemoth Mek Constructor :wink:

I didn't add any mineral sites, I just gave them +10.000 BMU's :smilydude:

You have to search for them 8-)

Offline MetalBeast

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • 3D Artist
    • View Profile
    • 3d-get.de
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 06:33:09 am »
nice,

this level forces you now to attack, because with defending startegy you are lost ;)

Sad about this POD bug, if you already researched the ION-Cannon. :D
See my newest "Machines" wallpaper here

My 3D modelling site
========================================

Offline Kekxo

  • Crusader
  • *
  • Posts: 274
  • Karma: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 09:55:33 am »
Very nice mod, congratulations.

A few things i want to say about it:
  • Building speed is amazing, you can build up a devastating army in just 1 minute
  • When you build another Pod after you have researched the Ion Cannon, a looping message('Ion Cannon acquired') will disturb your game
  • You cannot win the mission unless you destroy your ally forces
  • The unit cap of 80 is seriously too low. Volcanic is a huge map, i would increase the amount of buildable units to 150
  • Now it is even easier to beat your enemies. They may build more forces as before, but you use the new building speed more efficiently
  • Research speed does dramatically differ from the building speed.(you can still use more research facilities to compense that)
  • Overkill gets a new meaning in this mod.

Basically, i like it, but these are some points that may disturb a good balanced game. Hope it talks to you and you will soon release Volcanic Hardcore Mod v2

Greets, keK
Looking for downloads all around Machines? Try the download section and report any suggestions for it to me.

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2008, 10:09:28 am »
Quote
When you build another Pod after you have researched the Ion Cannon, a looping message('Ion Cannon acquired') will disturb your game

I said that you better not build POD after researching ION CANNON :wink:

Quote
Research speed does dramatically differ from the building speed.(you can still use more research facilities to compense that)

This map is good for HIGH TECH, but you can also play it with low or medium :smilydude:

Quote
You cannot win the mission unless you destroy your ally forces

I'll change it, never thought of it :|

Quote
The unit cap of 80 is seriously too low. Volcanic is a huge map, i would increase the amount of buildable units to 150

I'm looking how I can change it :-P

Quote
Now it is even easier to beat your enemies. They may build more forces as before, but you use the new building speed more efficiently

Don't rush your enemies and you'll have some problems after 30 minutes 8-) And when PC have normal building speed, it is quite boring... you see one gorilla coming and you say: "Oh no ! He'll kill me ! Aaa !" :lolhammer:

Offline MetalBeast

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • 3D Artist
    • View Profile
    • 3d-get.de
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2008, 11:53:07 am »
The unit cap of 80units is really too low.
Hope you will find a way to change it.

But anyway, good job, this mod rocks ;)

And the building speed is amazing :D

What happens, when you have build more, than one pod and than research the ION-cannon.
Will all pods be updated with the ION-Cannon or only the frist one ?
See my newest "Machines" wallpaper here

My 3D modelling site
========================================

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2008, 11:59:29 am »
before reaserching ION CANNON you have to build as many PODs as you wish, but after researching ion, all PODs will change to ION, but when you build another one POD, you'll hear a looping message('Ion Cannon acquired') once for 2 seconds, so it's very annoying :smilydude:

And thanks for your good words, I'm working on new mod :-P

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2008, 09:50:53 am »
Hi there, I made an update, which include:
* New Advanced Training for those who want to practise a fight between reapers and gorillas :wink:
* When you destroy the opponents, you win - you don't have to destroy your ally :smilydude:

Offline MetalBeast

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • 3D Artist
    • View Profile
    • 3d-get.de
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2008, 09:57:47 am »
Thx, will test it now ;)
Any ideas about unit limits ?
See my newest "Machines" wallpaper here

My 3D modelling site
========================================

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2008, 10:03:35 am »
No :| I looked in every file two times, but no way :cry: I only can make a mod on campaign map, but they are too small :-(

Offline MetalBeast

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • 3D Artist
    • View Profile
    • 3d-get.de
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2008, 10:05:22 am »
Hmm, it seems the unit limit on multiplayer maps is hardcoded, what would be a bad news.
See my newest "Machines" wallpaper here

My 3D modelling site
========================================

Offline f

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2008, 05:12:52 am »
Hmm, it seems the unit limit on multiplayer maps is hardcoded, what would be a bad news.

Sadly you're right.
Quote
no

Offline icedevil

  • Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2008, 06:51:52 pm »
good mod and need more times...

Offline darkreaper88

  • Scout
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Volcanic Hardcore Mod
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2009, 05:25:24 pm »
Hello everyone, I'm new here. I can't seem to get the Volcanic mod to work for some reason. If anyone can help me out, I will greatly appreciate it! (and please excuse me if I posted this in the wrong spot...)