Author Topic: Connecting problem  (Read 1317 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Connecting problem
« on: January 01, 2010, 05:06:10 pm »
Hi

My brother and me have the exact same game, same patch...
We use hamachi and connect well. We start up a game, I see it, but when I 'Join' I cannot take a spot.
It only sais 'Open' four times and I see settings, but not the settings he put up. And I cannot do anything except click on settings and send a message he doesn't receive.

So we cannot do anything...
Can anyone help us?

Thank you

PS: We have a router, does that matter?

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 06:40:05 pm »
Yes router does matter, disable firewall, install anti-lag patch, try creating the game on the 2nd PC. But mostly playing in LAN doesn't cause any problems to let people play, so no worries :wink:

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 06:04:57 am »
Thank you very much.
Do you mean the firewall of the router? Because the firewall of our pc's was already turned off.

Also, is Hamachi necessary in LAN? Isn't there any easier way to plan in LAN?

We tried the anti-lag patch, and the Win 98 mode.

I will explain situation again to be clear :)  => If he puts up a server, I can see it. I click on it and I click on 'Join'. I get the screen where I can see the 'slots', but they are all open. I see the settings, but it are my settings and not the server settings. (I cannot edit them either...). So I think there is no connection or something.


Thank you again, it would be super great if I could play with him again ;)

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 11:04:06 am »
I had already read the first link (a lot). But I didn't understand the stuff you said about the ports. I know how to open a port but I didn't understand what you meant there.

But that GameRanger looks really interesting! I will try that, thank you very much.

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 04:00:42 pm »
I tried with GameRanger
We got the same problem. The game started but then I got the same screen. (I attached it.)
After a while it gave that error multiple times.

My brother opened port 16000 but what can we do?

Offline mrhiggens

  • custom title?!
  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 4
  • Gender: Male
  • MEXICANS!
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2010, 02:00:35 am »
you will most likely have to play connected straight to a modem not a router.

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2010, 05:58:39 am »
Thank you for your response.

Can we connect our two PCs with a LAN-cable then? Because we cannot trow our router away :P
Or maybe it is because we are on the same router or something?

Tonight he is going back to his place so we will try again. Maybe this works :P

(Is there any port we have to open for Machines or GameRanger?)


Thank you, I won't give up :D

Offline lowie

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2010, 06:30:18 pm »
It works!
When he is at his place and I am here we can play.

thank you all!

One more question: how can you become allies in-game?

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting problem
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2010, 07:43:58 pm »
As I've sent you:
http://forums.wiredforwar.org/index.php?topic=1647.msg18440#msg18440 get the manual and find out yourself :)

(Ctrl+F1/F2/F3 - changes to ally/enemy to the continuing: first player, second player, third player)
greets