Author Topic: Multiplayer  (Read 1872 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Judas

  • Current Status: Reviving
  • Gorilla
  • *
  • Posts: 2145
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Relax!
    • View Profile
    • Fallout 3 Forum
Multiplayer
« on: September 04, 2005, 05:29:38 am »
Okay we have a problem: Time, if you live in England, it's 12:00, if you live in Amsterdam(or Berlin) it's 13:00, if you live in America...:shock: there is a six/eight hours(?) differnce, so isn't it better if we make our own time/clock??

Example: if we say, come to Gamespy at 18:00, and then some people come at very different time, so if we make our own time, people understand what we mean

(hope y'all understand :P)

What we can do about it:
1: Make our own Clock(Java/Html/Php), and put it next/under the Machine head
2: Everyone changes his time to Greenwich
3: The admin changes, locks, and deletes the timezone changing thing

Offline Dominius

  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2005, 07:17:59 am »
GMT all the way baby!! Thats the best thing! at least then it will be exact hour difference not something like 2 hours47 mins and 12 seconds...if you know what i meen.

Offline Cybertron

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: -7
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 08:26:20 am »
code your self a java clock

about the time how do you know its all the same whit other users?


Stop its hammer time!

Offline Judas

  • Current Status: Reviving
  • Gorilla
  • *
  • Posts: 2145
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Relax!
    • View Profile
    • Fallout 3 Forum
Multiplayer
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2005, 12:37:59 pm »
Quote from: Cybertron
code your self a java clock

about the time how do you know its all the same whit other users?


you don't, that why I made this topic, that people should come up with idea's, so that we know if the time is the same

Offline Dominius

  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2005, 06:04:18 am »
You know a Java clock, do they run even though there might not be people on the actually site?

Offline Judas

  • Current Status: Reviving
  • Gorilla
  • *
  • Posts: 2145
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Relax!
    • View Profile
    • Fallout 3 Forum
Multiplayer
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2005, 10:45:55 am »
Quote from: Dominius
You know a Java clock, do they run even though there might not be people on the actually site?


yes, they should run on the server (the computer that must never be shut down, and where the site is on)

that computer runs even while we are away, and you get a good clock

Offline Cybertron

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: -7
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2005, 10:47:16 am »
bios clock?


Stop its hammer time!

Offline Dominius

  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2005, 10:41:23 am »
Oh i get you. Why didnt i think of that int he first place. DER!! So theprogram just gets placed on to the server and doesn't stop workng afterwards. Got it!!

What happens if the server goes offline though. Does that meen that the program isstill running cuz the comp is on but not online or that it stops because it isn't online any more?

Offline Cybertron

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: -7
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2005, 02:25:30 pm »
make it run on the bios its allways on :) or the internet


Stop its hammer time!

Offline Judas

  • Current Status: Reviving
  • Gorilla
  • *
  • Posts: 2145
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Relax!
    • View Profile
    • Fallout 3 Forum
Multiplayer
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2005, 08:53:28 am »
Quote from: Dominius
Oh i get you. Why didnt i think of that int he first place. DER!! So theprogram just gets placed on to the server and doesn't stop workng afterwards. Got it!!

What happens if the server goes offline though. Does that meen that the program isstill running cuz the comp is on but not online or that it stops because it isn't online any more?


if the server is offline, you don't see that the clock isn't working, and ofcourse, if the server reboots then you have to adjust the clock, but the administrator of the site should do that, so nothing to worry about :)

Offline Dominius

  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2005, 01:45:32 pm »
AHA, so make the clock sit back and relax, basically.

Offline Judas

  • Current Status: Reviving
  • Gorilla
  • *
  • Posts: 2145
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Relax!
    • View Profile
    • Fallout 3 Forum
Multiplayer
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2005, 11:54:58 am »
Quote from: Dominius
AHA, so make the clock sit back and relax, basically.


yeah, but we need a server to run it on, and the clock is hard to make(I don't know but I wanted to say something about it :D )

Offline Cybertron

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: -7
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2005, 01:44:11 pm »
i can try to make one


Stop its hammer time!

Offline Dominius

  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2005, 04:35:44 pm »
Every different type of programming has its own timing doesn't it? If thats the case wouldn't it be easy-ish to do? You would have to declare the limits for the single digits(i.e. from 0-9) and then some what if statements, for when the seconds part reaches 0 for the second time. Then the same for minuets and hours, would this be based on a 12 or 24 hour clock?

Offline Cybertron

  • Wasp
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: -7
    • View Profile
Multiplayer
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2005, 02:31:35 pm »
i have the code to make one 24 ours


Stop its hammer time!