Author Topic: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!  (Read 33132 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Erazor

  • Grunt
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #60 on: April 02, 2007, 03:54:34 am »
This is normal.
I get this error too if I have no internet connection.
Go online and try it again.
Thanks, works just fine now :-)

Offline Jabor

  • M2 Development leader of: Offtopic Posting
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Nukage
    • View Profile
    • Quantum Legacy
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #61 on: April 02, 2007, 07:10:51 am »
98, or 98SE?

A clean reinstall of Machines would be your best bet.

I still have my original Machines disks and manual....

Offline Apex-

  • Mind the Penguin
  • Doctor
  • Goliath
  • *
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: 125
  • Gender: Male
  • I Seem To Have Left My Keys In The Lab...
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #62 on: April 02, 2007, 09:19:31 am »
Hey, I'm having trouble with it, I've got it in my Machines Directory and all, looks like Alexlazer66's screenshot. But everytime I start it up it says there is an
"ERROR in action number 1 of key release event for <no key> Key for object obj_abortbutton:
error defining an external function."
Then there's an abort and ignore button.

after that there are two more errors, one about no existing file and the other about an unknown variable "currentversion".
then comes the login page, after i press "login", 3 more errors pop up in this order...
error defining an external function(again)
no existing file(again)
and a very large error with alot of stuff in it that covers alot of space,but it is all about an error in a left click for object obj_loginbut.

Sorry, I know it's a bit lengthy of a post, but I want to be a little more specific than "help it won't work!"
some other people have also had this problem too, so I hope you guys have figured it out now. I'm just hoping it's just me doing something stupid and wrong! And yes, I did try re-installing. Help!

The dlls aren't present. Make sure you have downloadfile.dll (I think that's what it's called) in the same directory as the client EXE (as well as any other DLL files that came with it).

Offline Bionic21

  • The Triple Agent
  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • New Download Initiated
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #63 on: April 02, 2007, 04:43:51 pm »
Ok thanks, That works fine now,(must have missed that file when extracting, heh) but...
THE PROBLEMS JUST KEEP ON COMING :cry:
Now it asks me to update and all, I press update and... the words overlap as the new screen comes, and it's hard to tell but it looks like under status it says "stopped/error"
Ugh, I was so close too!!!
Tell me I'm stupid and this is an idiotic mistake please!!!
Viral Warfare is Superior

Offline Apex-

  • Mind the Penguin
  • Doctor
  • Goliath
  • *
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: 125
  • Gender: Male
  • I Seem To Have Left My Keys In The Lab...
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #64 on: April 02, 2007, 05:54:06 pm »
Ugh, this keeps on happening to people... I don't know the reason. See above posts.

Offline Bionic21

  • The Triple Agent
  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • New Download Initiated
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #65 on: April 02, 2007, 06:30:58 pm »
When you say above posts, do you mean download the file manually?
I've tried doing that, but the client still asks me to update and has the same result.
Is that link an outdated version or do I need to put the download in a different spot?
(It's currently in the Machines Program files directory with the client.)
Viral Warfare is Superior

Offline Shadow Whisperer

  • Watching you in the dark
  • Elvis
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #66 on: April 04, 2007, 04:53:54 pm »
 Is there any other way to download the mods and updates manualy as the the client just won't work. Just note I run windows XP.
Silicon, Circuitry, and Software, fused with wires and blasted steel.

Offline rogedjohn

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #67 on: April 10, 2007, 03:47:35 am »
 :clint:Hi y'all! Maybe I should throw this 'bean' in another pot, but i must ask. Is anyone else having issues with the MAP in the upper left corner of the display? I can't see anything. I can't see minerals (BMU's), my guys, enemies, etc... I have only a shield.  Whaz up wit that?

Offline Jabor

  • M2 Development leader of: Offtopic Posting
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Nukage
    • View Profile
    • Quantum Legacy
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #68 on: April 10, 2007, 06:11:21 am »
:clint: Hi y'all! Maybe I should throw this 'bean' in another pot, but i must ask. Is anyone else having issues with the MAP in the upper left corner of the display? I can't see anything. I can't see minerals (BMU's), my guys, enemies, etc... I have only a shield.  Whaz up wit that?
First of all, to get the :clint: to show up you need a space after the final :.

Second of all, you need to build a Beacon in order to view the minimap and see your units - there should be a BMU count regardless, but on some screen resolutions the very top and bottom of the screen are chopped off, and it's probably chopping off the BMU count on your screen.

Hope it helps

I still have my original Machines disks and manual....

Offline rogedjohn

  • Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #69 on: April 14, 2007, 06:10:12 pm »
 :clint: Hi, and thanks Jabor... I just know it will work, but haven't tried it yet. Thanx!  :holy:

Offline cheater

  • Wraith Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
  • on DefCon 1 you take out your nukes
    • View Profile
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #70 on: April 30, 2007, 05:18:45 pm »
i have 2 sugestions:
1.  a TRAINER download and load function
and
2.  a BETTER ICON like the machines logo and i know its possible since
i have the gamemaker (registrated 6.1) and i create my own icons for my games
its really easy to create icons.



PS: did you know the creator of GM(mark overmars)is a dutch guy like me and judas :-o
a good machines fan has the original discs (like me) and not a downloaded version(no offense)

Offline Jabor

  • M2 Development leader of: Offtopic Posting
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Nukage
    • View Profile
    • Quantum Legacy
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #71 on: May 01, 2007, 01:40:34 am »
Yeah, an icon would be a mucho improvemento.

If I find my old GM install files, you could send me the source and I'd fix it up myself.

I don't think the trainer would work, though, or at the least it would require new coding - it doesn't work the same as installing a patch does, and has to be run seperately from machines.exe.

I still have my original Machines disks and manual....

Offline Apex-

  • Mind the Penguin
  • Doctor
  • Goliath
  • *
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: 125
  • Gender: Male
  • I Seem To Have Left My Keys In The Lab...
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #72 on: May 05, 2007, 02:03:33 am »
PS: did you know the creator of GM(mark overmars)is a dutch guy like me and judas :-o
Is that supposed to make the Dutch awesome or something?

If I find my old GM install files, you could send me the source and I'd fix it up myself.
I'm not dumb, I can do it.

I don't think the trainer would work, though, or at the least it would require new coding - it doesn't work the same as installing a patch does, and has to be run seperately from machines.exe.
It wouldn't be hard... just start it along with the game.

Offline Jabor

  • M2 Development leader of: Offtopic Posting
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Karma: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Nukage
    • View Profile
    • Quantum Legacy
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #73 on: May 05, 2007, 02:04:57 am »
So do it already!

...actually, I don't really care. I don't need to cheat.

I still have my original Machines disks and manual....

Offline Apex-

  • Mind the Penguin
  • Doctor
  • Goliath
  • *
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: 125
  • Gender: Male
  • I Seem To Have Left My Keys In The Lab...
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: New!!! - Wired For War Machines Client!
« Reply #74 on: May 05, 2007, 02:07:30 am »
I think adding in MAC would actually be a better decision...