Author Topic: Mod for having more Machines  (Read 4109 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline naums

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Oettinger Games Dev
    • View Profile
    • Oettinger Games
Mod for having more Machines
« on: August 09, 2011, 05:53:43 pm »
Hey there.

I'm looking for a Mod that allows me to have more than the 120 (?) Machines on the map. I hope someone already did that.

MfG Naums

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 06:08:29 pm »
Nope, but if you know how to texture models, then you could help in our development.
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...

Offline naums

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Oettinger Games Dev
    • View Profile
    • Oettinger Games
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 06:17:13 pm »
Nope I don't know how to texture stuff, but if you are "developing" stuff, why not making a "remake"? For example with UDK (Unreal Development Kit). Sorry. I just saw the Machine 2 - Threads. If you need help by a PHP, C++-Programmer write me a mail. ;)
« Last Edit: August 09, 2011, 06:25:00 pm by naums »

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2011, 06:26:02 pm »
Hmm. Read here, http://dev.wiredforwar.org/index.php/devblog/scout-implemented-into-spring/

We are using springs. No models are in Machines 2 development pages, they are in a safe place from thieves.
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...

Offline Mahmoud

  • Openmachines dev
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Sometimes change is needed, in any direction
    • View Profile
    • Just a game...
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2011, 08:07:16 pm »
we have a sourceforge page up for just the remake  :-P
IRC join #wiredforwar
Development

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2011, 08:49:36 pm »
Yes, yes...  :w-hat:
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...

Offline mb

  • Wraith Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2011, 04:54:33 pm »
I recently made a little hack. Source code and executable included at http://forums.wiredforwar.org/index.php?topic=8218.msg31432#msg31432. It's deal with cd checking* and units limit. Just copy to machines.exe directory and run from commandline with unit limit as argument or doubleclick batch file (default 240 unit limit).

*patched machines.exe is securom free already so it's not intended to be a crack 
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 07:12:24 pm by mb »

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2011, 09:20:05 pm »
Err are you serious? Can someone check it out because I'm worried of some sort of a keylogger(he's also from PL and it could be deadly for me).

Offline Automatic

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 680
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2011, 09:22:41 pm »
Just don't download it. A guy with five posts would not have made a mod in the time it takes to snap your fingers.

:cop:

Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2011, 09:27:37 pm »
But it's a link to an account on a technical high-school's server. So he might be good at it... Otherwise I wouldn't care his post.

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2011, 09:36:19 pm »
I'll click it. Besides, why am I paying over 100 dollars every year for Norton Antivirus if I don't use it  :wink:
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 09:47:18 pm by Dannian »
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...

Offline Automatic

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 680
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2011, 09:37:54 pm »
If you want to, just download the .zip and then scan it. I wouldn't suggest it though.

Offline mb

  • Wraith Reaper
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2011, 08:01:00 am »
Err are you serious?
Yes.

Short HOWTO for hacking limits from debugger:

Unit limits is divided into two parts: base 80 units and extra 40 units for campaing. Machines.exe uses strings like UNITS_LIMIT_PER_RACE and CAMPAING_EXTRA_UNITS so it's likely what limit can be changed in less invasive metod than in-process memory writing.
Start debugger as administrator privilages if your compatibility settings need to. Load machines.exe into debugger (set path for start directory otherwise machines.exe will hang). On first break change memory at 0x4699f0 (address in body of function which calculates whole limit of units) from:

... be 01 00 00 00 ... to ... 90 90 90 90 90 ...

in windbg:
Code: [Select]
> eb 4699f0 90 90 90 90 90now CD checking can be disabled (this step can be omitted):
Code: [Select]
> eb 433b14 c3and start:
Code: [Select]
> g
This trick machines think limit is unreachable. That could work as long as we dont exceed 4 byte unsigned int range. Included app deal with machines.exe  better way. In short it makes jump from function next changes register edi with unit limit and return. Setting real units limit makes game noncrashable.


Offline X-Lord

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: 40
  • Gender: Male
  • Modder
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2011, 04:42:48 pm »
And what did you come up with Dannian?

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Mod for having more Machines
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2011, 04:45:37 pm »
I don't understand his instructions when I try it  :oops:

BTW, that picture has less than 120 machines. Why not include a picture with over 200 machines....
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 04:50:10 pm by Dannian »
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...