Author Topic: OpenMachines?  (Read 3401 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
OpenMachines?
« on: August 29, 2011, 06:01:01 am »
Hi again from an OOOOLD friend of Machines.
Today I discovered that an OpenMachines is under development:

http://www.youtube.com/user/OpenMachines?feature=mhee#p/u/3/xuuAlEaLQZc

is it somewhat related to this board and the efforts about Machines2?
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline Game_user10

  • =DG=Wraith
  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: -3
  • FEAR THE SCARAB!
    • View Profile
    • RuneScape - The World's No.1 Free MMORPG according to Guiness World Records
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 06:09:34 am »
Dude, that IS Machines 2, the guys are using Spring to do it.

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 06:16:09 am »
Ok, I didn't understand why the difference in the name: Machines2 vs OpenMachines
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline Game_user10

  • =DG=Wraith
  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: -3
  • FEAR THE SCARAB!
    • View Profile
    • RuneScape - The World's No.1 Free MMORPG according to Guiness World Records
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 06:24:25 am »
I don't either...

Offline ScrewTheSystem

  • WFW Employee
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 828
  • Karma: 22
  • Gender: Male
  • Let us instigate the revolt, down with the system
    • View Profile
    • Warez-bb.org
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 08:40:24 am »
That's probably because it ain't Machines 2.
We're remaking Machines through Spring. And we're making quite some progress, as you can see.

Do you have any experience with texturing, by chance?

Also, are you the guy that distributed the XP-patches in the very beginning (before this forum)?

Welcome back, my man!
Remember when being a Wrath Reaper was badass? Those were the days. . .

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2011, 08:58:52 am »
yes, it's me. it all started when I tracked down one of the original authors of the game. It was 2002 I think. Then, years later, I posted the patch on ntcompatible forum and sloik and other ppl started the earlier version of the board.
Such a pity I have lost 100% of the original mails I exchanged with the author. He told me about virus weapon and other unfinished parts of the game.

I like the idea of having the original game remade!
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2011, 09:01:23 am »
Holy Shit! I found his data INSIDE another mail... The kind guy that worked at Acclaim and that sent me the original patch was Hal Angseesing and he has even a Facebook account! He told me he had other Machines stuff at the time. Maybe he has some texture?
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline ScrewTheSystem

  • WFW Employee
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 828
  • Karma: 22
  • Gender: Male
  • Let us instigate the revolt, down with the system
    • View Profile
    • Warez-bb.org
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2011, 09:31:06 am »
Haha, yup, the Virus weapon ^^ We know aaaaaall about it ;)

Check X-Lord's sig. He managed to get the 'secret' stuff out of the game (like the Virus-weapon... It appears to be somewhat of a yellow version of the Disruptor).

And, yes, Hal is also a member of this forum (Nurse Jeballi). He's currently busy making something of a... Machines-universe-thingy (only for Xbox, though, I believe).

Another developer of Machines said (on youtube) that they were gathering plans and concepts for a Machines II, a little before Charybdis went out of business...

Anyways, lot of stuff has been going on here. Like...

BUNNIES!  :bunny: :bunny:
Remember when being a Wrath Reaper was badass? Those were the days. . .

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2011, 10:47:21 am »
If I recall correctly they used some strange method for 3D animations of unit models so that it was really hard to re-create them.
Has this problem been adressed in some way? I can work on Photoshop, but 3D texturing is quite a different world (I used Lightwave back in 1999 but, well, I forgot everything)
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline ScrewTheSystem

  • WFW Employee
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 828
  • Karma: 22
  • Gender: Male
  • Let us instigate the revolt, down with the system
    • View Profile
    • Warez-bb.org
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2011, 10:56:48 am »
I do not know... Although, reaper_24 and X-Lord have made some improved textures as mods. Check the download page. Dunno how they did it. Something about embiggening and resharping the existing ones...

Or something...

Any other of the remaining members could probably answer this better ^^
Remember when being a Wrath Reaper was badass? Those were the days. . .

Offline Automatic

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 680
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2011, 11:25:30 am »
We unwrap the textures and then someone textures that according to the unwrap. It's just that none of us are very experienced with this, but have used things like photoshop and gimp. Anyway, to be clear, again, OpenMachines is a remake of the original game. It is not affiliated with Machines 2.

Also, the machines textures are unwrapped, and the models are told to load the textures. To change them, all you have to do is start drawing on them or whatever you like. X-Lord just changed the resolution.

Make sure to check out Development linked on the new front page. Or click on my signature.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 11:27:46 am by Automatic »

Offline Game_user10

  • =DG=Wraith
  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: -3
  • FEAR THE SCARAB!
    • View Profile
    • RuneScape - The World's No.1 Free MMORPG according to Guiness World Records
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2011, 11:31:09 am »
That's probably because it ain't Machines 2.
Well I messed up... Blame spammers for making me miss d' news
DEATH TO SPAMMERS

Offline Automatic

  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 680
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2011, 11:32:30 am »
Nobody likes em.  :wink:

Offline Suskis

  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2011, 01:27:54 pm »
Also, the machines textures are unwrapped, and the models are told to load the textures. To change them, all you have to do is start drawing on them or whatever you like. X-Lord just changed the resolution.

so what you need are bigger textures? like a Quake retexturing project? do new texture have also bump maps and reflections?
niente dovr? fermarci questa volta!

Offline The Merciful

  • The Bunny King
  • Eradicator
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Karma: -1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: OpenMachines?
« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2011, 01:31:15 pm »
Also, the machines textures are unwrapped, and the models are told to load the textures. To change them, all you have to do is start drawing on them or whatever you like. X-Lord just changed the resolution.

so what you need are bigger textures? like a Quake retexturing project? do new texture have also bump maps and reflections?

We are using blender to make the models. If you would like to help, you could learn how to texture with blender. There are 2 ways to texture with blender. 1) Draw on the mesh directly. 2) Something about UV

That's probably because it ain't Machines 2.
Well I messed up... Blame spammers for making me miss d' news
DEATH TO SPAMMERS

 :sadd: :sadd: :sadd: :sadd: :sadd:
But....
:bunny: :bunny:

I wouldn't pet the bunnies if I...